Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

Its Nice to be Nice


Canon EOS 5D Mk II, EF 50mm f/1.8II @ f/5.6, 1/30 sec, ISO 1600

Birthday Couple


While having dinner at a fancy restaurant I thought it would be nice to take some snaps of our dinner. As I was firing away, this couple that was sitting behind us thought I was a professional photographer and asked me if I would mind taking a picture for them, he was beginning to mention compensation for me and I just cut him off and said: “Give me your email address and I’ll email you the picture in the next couple of days, I don’t do this for a living so this my gift to you two”.

They were genuinely pleased that I did this for them for free, it was the girl’s birthday and I guess it helped make the night “special” for them. I got a nice & sincere thank you email from him and I must admit that it made me very happy…

Moral of the story: “Its nice to be Nice”… It really is đŸ™‚

Technical:
Canon EOS 5D Mk II, EF 50mm f/1.8 II @ f/5.6 , 1/30 sec, ISO 1600
Strobist:
– I underexposed the image by 2 stops to capture more of the ambient light and reduce any camera shake
– I set my flash to TTL (+1 EV) as my main source, it was pointing backwards over my right shoulder and to the ceiling at about 45 degrees, I really didn’t want to use direct flash –> just hate that look!!

One response

  1. Awesome stuff & story!

    March 2, 2011 at 1:06 pm