Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

When in OB…


Yesterday, me & my cousin decided to check out the annual OTL(Over-The-Line) tournament that is held at Mission Beach, San Diego. I was told that I should at least check out once since I live here, its an event not to miss out. From my understanding its a real “fun” tournament that people get out of whack for, generally they have outrageous costumes and just less loose; I thought it would be a good photo opportunity, I like taking candid photos of colorful/expressive people. We decided to go around 4pm, any earlier the light would be too harsh and the images would washed out, but one thing we didn’t factor is how bad the parking was going to be. I was told it was going to be bad but didn’t think it was going to be this bad! There was nowhere to park so we decided to leave for another spot. Since I was in the mood for colorful people we decided to check out Ocean Beach, I’ve never been and its the Venice Beach of San Diego, the “unique” personalities hang out there.

As the saying goes: “When in Rome, do as the Romans do”, my cousin decided to fit in and he really did. With that tatoos he was right at home in Ocean beach. Here are a few more candids of people on the Pier, which by the way must be one of the longest Piers or something; it goes on forever, just remember that however far you decide to walk… you’ll need to walk that distance back 🙂

One response

  1. My family and I were in San Diego the week following this post… It would have been neat to have been there for the tournament!

    July 27, 2011 at 4:53 pm