Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

Eyes of a predator


After living here (San Diego) for 3 years I finally made it to the San Diego zoo, and to no surprise it took a visitor from out of town to get me to go! Procrastination took over when I became a local, there is always next weekend, right? For this close up of the leopard’s face I was about 1.5 meters away from it; I had to get in between the plants (hence the blurred corners :)) These set of shots are of the Leopard that we saw at the zoo; the zoo does many good things for animal preservation but its very hard seeing these big cats in these small cages! Does anybody know if they move them to a larger area at night? or do they stay in that small cage the entire time they are at the zoo?

These two are more typical of the “Leopard pose” that you see in magazines/publications; Sitting on top of the rocks with all its glory. About 10 minutes after I took these images the leopard came down from the rock and just kept on pacing in the cage as if he/she was saying “let me out, let me out”.

How great it would’ve been to photograph this beautiful creature without the cage?! I probably would’ve never got to post the images then 🙂

6 responses

  1. Leopards are so beautiful! Great images, especially the first one.

    December 9, 2011 at 3:10 pm

  2. Great pictures – a little sad though, that it lives in captivity :/

    December 13, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    • It was so hard seeing it pace back & forth… I wanted to set it free 😦

      December 13, 2011 at 1:05 pm

  3. If the fence hadn’t been there, you may well have had one very happy cat purring away while he digested his dinner…you. 🙂 The SD zoo is a great zoo as zoos go but… a caged animal is sad. But your photos are gorgeous!!

    I took lots of pictures there a few years ago. One of these days I hope to post the SD Zoo photos. I loved San Diego!!

    December 13, 2011 at 3:18 pm

  4. Thanks for the compliments. San Diego is great city, I love it out here

    December 13, 2011 at 11:19 pm

  5. Pingback: Koalas « 2 Rivers Photos