Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

The oil boom


This is an image that I took of Abu Dhabi back when I was there in May of this year. I grew up in Abu Dhabi, I spent 10 years of my life there before we immigrated to Canada in 1990 and haven’t “really” been back since then; I’ve been to Dubai a few times but thats not the same for a person that grew up there :). I can hardly recognize the place anymore, there are hints of what used to be there but the whole city has gone through a major facelift. This made me think of all the revolutions that are going on in the Arab world, they’ve all stemmed from the fact that the public are fed up with the government and they are demanding changes. I don’t think you’ll ever see such an uprising in the UAE for one simple reason: the rulers of that country used the “oil” money to build their country and not their army! They still have their own human rights issues but I believe they are at least in the right direction.

3 responses

  1. OMG these skyscrapers…. great perspective!

    December 17, 2011 at 7:28 am

  2. Nandini

    Brilliant shot! 🙂

    December 17, 2011 at 8:43 am

  3. I like the sense of history you put on there. I agree with you when you said, they are in the right direction. That’s very optimistic.

    March 12, 2012 at 8:36 pm