Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

A piece of history


I think there will come a point in time where pay phones will only reside in communication museums, day by day their presence is shrinking as cell phones usage is on the rise. I took this at Toronto’s Pearson International airport, which I suppose could be one of the few places that would still need to have pay phones for international visitors. I can’t think of many other places besides airports & hospitals that would need pay phones, once that hurdle is tackled than I believe pay phones are well on their way to the communications museum 🙂

2 responses

  1. I’ve often wondered how many years these phones had left? The last time I used one was a few years ago at Pearson airport before I boarded an international flight.

    January 16, 2012 at 3:47 am

    • Initially I was going to say who needs them anymore, but I remembered last year when I arrived to Abu Dhabi I had to use a pay phone in the airport to call my ride as they were late. They hardly exist on street corners and there used to be at least one at each intersection! Regardless, they are battling extinction 🙂

      January 16, 2012 at 8:32 am