Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

Western White House


It seems that I’m on a mission to explore Southern California as yesterday I made my first visit to San Clemente with a good friend of mine. San Clemente is the most southern town in Orange County before the start of Camp Pendleton, it got its world fame by former US President Richard Nixon. Rumor has it is that he dreaded being in Washington, D.C. and he tried to do as much business as possible out of his San Clemente estate; which was commonly nicknamed as the “Western White House”. Even though this is not the view that his estate would have overlooked, this is the famous “San Clemente Pier” located in downtown San Clemente. Its a really beautiful town, if you’ve never been I would highly recommend a visit. I wanted to take a great sunset shot but it was very apparent that the clouds were coming in and they were going to blank the sky, 15 to 20 minutes after that the sky was completely grey!

15 responses

  1. that’s a really nice shot

    honestly reminds me a bit of Just Cause 2, insane graphics, made real here

    February 19, 2012 at 9:34 am

  2. Nandini

    Stunningly beautiful! πŸ™‚

    February 19, 2012 at 9:46 am

  3. BEautifully composed and processed.

    February 19, 2012 at 2:35 pm

  4. BoJo Photo

    Very beautiful image!

    February 19, 2012 at 5:00 pm

  5. Wow 2Rivers… you HDR skills have improved soooo much in such a short time!!! Really enjoying your posts!!! Stunning photography!!! Keep it up – loving it!!! πŸ™‚ **

    February 19, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    • Thank you for your kind words. I can’t tell you how much they meant to me πŸ™‚ Thank you.

      February 20, 2012 at 6:00 am

  6. Awesome photo! I love the depth!

    February 20, 2012 at 4:30 am

  7. Thanks for the great feedback everyone. Much appreciated.

    February 20, 2012 at 6:00 am

  8. I look forward to you coming back to San Diego sometime!

    March 4, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    • I live in San Diego πŸ™‚ I need to take “newer” pictures of our gorgeous city.

      March 5, 2012 at 8:35 am

      • Well if you live in San Diego, we need to hook up and go take some pictures somewhere!

        March 5, 2012 at 11:17 am

        • Sure thing… I’m definitely up for that πŸ™‚

          March 5, 2012 at 8:36 pm

  9. Wow wow wow.. This photo makes me want to pick up and leave the east coast!

    March 5, 2012 at 8:49 am

    • I’ve lived on both sides… so difficult to choose. The west coast has the scenery and relaxed attitude. But sometime I miss the hustle & bustle of the East. The grass is always greener on the other side πŸ™‚

      March 5, 2012 at 9:03 am

  10. I used to look at this view every day when I lived in San Clemente. Thank you for sharing such a gorgeous photo. I sat on one of the benches close to where you took this photos many a time – relaxing with a good book. Life is definitely a nice pace there. Looking forward to a trip there soon!

    March 10, 2012 at 10:12 pm