Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

Argo


An interesting composition that I saw at the Argo building at UCSD. Argo is basically a system that is comprised of a series of floats that measure the temperature, salinity (level of salt) and velocity of the upper 2km of the ocean. This data is available to the public within hours after collection so I’m assuming that this is where this happens. Until looking this information up, I always had the impression that this was the bow of some kind of ship since this is close the Pacific; not really sure why but I had the concept of ship associated to this. So I decided to google Argo and I found out from wikipedia that in Greek mythology, Argo, was the ship in which Jason and the Argonauts sailed to retrieve the Golden Fleece; it was named after its builder, Argus.

5 responses

  1. Nandini

    Interesting combination of vertical and horizontal lines, and also the blue and the orange. Nice! ๐Ÿ™‚

    February 29, 2012 at 7:13 am

  2. This is very simple, but cool. Love the lines and colors ๐Ÿ™‚

    February 29, 2012 at 8:11 am

    • Thank you for your kind words ๐Ÿ™‚

      February 29, 2012 at 7:52 pm

  3. I love the composition and simplicity of this.

    February 29, 2012 at 8:28 pm