Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

Adios, San Clemente!


An image of a moving train leaving San Clemente’s train station. I saw the train coming from a distance and I was hoping that it was going to make a stop at the station, which it did. At that time I already developed this image in my head and I switched to shutter priority mode (very rarely do I do that) and I started to experiment with different shutter speeds while it was slowly approaching, I used that to judge the “blur” when it was going to start moving again. I settled on 1/8th of a second and I started to compose this shot for when the train starts moving, I wanted a bigger blur in the foreground compared to the background and for the most part I achieved it; I probably should’ve gone with a shutter speed of 1/10s or 1/15s to get the back middle end sharper. While I was doing all of this, a friend of mine took a picture of me taking the picture (my first appearance on the blog besides my about page :))

12 responses

  1. Love the motion in the moving train shot. We were considering making motion our next photo club challenge. Yours is a perfect example.

    March 1, 2012 at 7:01 am

    • You should 🙂 And I hope that we get to see what you guys create

      March 1, 2012 at 5:20 pm

  2. Whittney Jago

    wow, you’re an amazing photographer! Great work!

    March 1, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    • You are too kind 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

      March 1, 2012 at 5:20 pm

  3. Great first shot!!!! 🙂 **

    March 1, 2012 at 10:18 pm

  4. Great shot! I love the moving train.

    March 2, 2012 at 3:36 am

  5. Nice action shot.

    March 2, 2012 at 9:10 pm

  6. The first photograph has a wonderful sense of movement and is a fantastic action shot.

    March 5, 2012 at 8:47 am

  7. This is fantastic! I have a picture similar to this in Boston at the T-Station, but it’s in subway lighting, so it didn’t come out as rich and vibrant as yours did! Instead, it came out kind of musty and gritty, which I suppose fits better with an underground subway. I really love the blue, it makes that sign pop!

    March 6, 2012 at 10:56 am

  8. One of the reasons why I love San Diego is because there are so many trains here: BNSF, Trolley, Coaster, Sprinter, Amtrak, and Metrolink. I’m never at a loss to go out and take train pictures.

    March 8, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    • Interesting, you gotta show me sometime all the things that you find in them. I walked around the station and didn’t find much to photograph but I admit that day my mind was set on a crazy Pier sunset picture which never happened because of the clouds 🙂

      March 9, 2012 at 9:30 am

      • Yesterday was a great evening for pier sunset pictures. Today should be the same.

        March 9, 2012 at 9:41 am