Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

A Night at Lestat’s


Last Wednesday night, a colleague of mine invited me to come out and shoot her band while they were performing at a local coffee shop. Lestat’s coffee house is a traditional European-style coffee house with an emphasis in entertainment, its located in the heart of university heights (San Diego). I’ve never shot anything like this and I knew I was in for a challenge, I did some reading prior to going and I also had the fortune of experimenting while the bands were warming up as I was allowed in before the crowds and that was really helpful so thank you Lestat 🙂 The biggest challenge when shooting a concert/band is the lighting (a fast lens is required without saying), its constantly changing and the colors can really through you off at times. My tip for all you is to switch to spot metering and learn how to lock your exposure when you meter so that you can recompose quickly for the right shot.

Alright enough about my photography and lets talk a little about these amazing artists. The main singer is Summer Mencher and she does this full time, a very talented lady and I highly recommend going out and watching one of her shows. I’ve provided a link to her website so you can follow her, I met her for the first time that day so I’m vouching for talent not friendship 🙂

The backup vocals were provided by Angela Taylor and Jolie Leblanc and the man in charge of the drums was the ever talented David Young; his hands were definitely a challenge under the poor lighting conditions (they were just too fast :)) but I felt that the blur added to the appreciation of the skill.

All in all it was a great experience for me, I usually like to listen to music when I go out shooting so it was definitely a bonus having them sing so well while I shoot. I even admit that on a few occasions I put my camera down to enjoy the show, I couldn’t believe that they sounded that good; I had to check 🙂

Finally, they will be performing at a much larger venue on March 16, 2012 at Anthology in Downtown San Diego. If you don’t have plans than please come and check them out, I’m sure you’ll have a great time and if that’s not enough to persuade you… I got a press pass for the event so I’ll definitely be there 🙂 Please contact me if you want to grab tickets as I can direct you to the right people. (I’m not involved in the event, I’m just helping a talented friend)

Here are a few more shots from that night:

10 responses

  1. Great shots.You did an excellent job shooting this.

    March 9, 2012 at 8:43 pm

  2. I like your photos!

    March 10, 2012 at 1:17 am

    • Thank you for your kind words 🙂

      March 10, 2012 at 9:07 am

  3. Great pictures! it looks like a good way to spend an evening… 🙂

    March 11, 2012 at 3:31 am

  4. Unfortunately I’m a few years past my nightclub/bar/Lestat’s stage of my life. 🙂

    March 13, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    • Its just a live band Russell, I’m not into nightclubs/bars either 🙂

      March 13, 2012 at 1:59 pm

  5. Fantastic images! I can imagine the difficulty in shooting in this environment without using flash. Great job!

    March 16, 2012 at 5:16 pm

  6. What camera do you use if you don’t mind? 😀

    July 3, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    • I don’t mind at all 🙂 I use a Canon 5D Mk II

      July 4, 2012 at 5:41 am