Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

The stairs to…


Back on our safari in 2010, while most guests at our lodge opted for a nap I decided to go for a walk around the camp and see if there were any opportunities to take some pictures. I saw these steps that led to nowhere and thought they were worth an image. Until today I can’t figure out their purpose and not until processing it a few days ago did it cross my mind that these might not be stairs but some of sort of seating stands?!?! Agree? disagree? Any ideas on the purpose of these stairs?

10 responses

  1. I don’t know about a purpose but I think they’re cool! Whether they were meant to be stairs or some sort of seating it seems like an odd set-up and location for either. Part of my twisted brain says they were put there as someone’s idea of a joke but seems like a lot of work for that also… πŸ™‚

    April 4, 2012 at 9:35 am

  2. It looks like they have a rail … but I suppose stands would too? I don’t know. It’s a nice image, though! πŸ™‚

    April 4, 2012 at 2:16 pm

  3. Nandini

    Nice. πŸ™‚

    April 4, 2012 at 8:05 pm

  4. Interesting title πŸ™‚

    April 5, 2012 at 12:19 am

  5. Very interesting! Makes me think of loading ramps – but far more organized!

    April 6, 2012 at 10:33 pm

  6. I think they are for loading as Anita said. At campsites, I’ve seen them for pulling an RV up to and used to enter/depart from.

    April 7, 2012 at 1:58 am

  7. i’ll take a guess: to get onto the backs of elephants? they do it in thailand and india, not sure if it could apply to your picture, though…

    πŸ™‚

    April 7, 2012 at 2:20 am

  8. Great photo! To me it looks like someone didn’t finish their building plans.

    April 7, 2012 at 7:48 am

  9. I’m thinking to get on the backs of elephants like Alessandro has said. They had a similar think in Chitwan, Nepal so maybe there too? I like the quality of light in this image πŸ™‚

    April 15, 2012 at 7:26 am

    • Thanks for the compliments. And yeah I agree, its elephants or some high object that they need to get on. That seems to be the most popular choice and I’m leaning towards it πŸ™‚

      April 15, 2012 at 2:47 pm