Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

California’s Desert


This is an image of the Californian desert that is just east of San Diego, we were on our way to Anza Borrego desert state park and we decided to pull over to take some pictures! This particular plant stood out above the rest and naturally caught my attention. I really wanted to do a panoramic of the mountains in the background but it was so windy that I couldn’t really keep the camera steady even with a tripod! You can even see some of the motion blur in the branches of the big plant.

13 responses

  1. elle

    oh wow I love the desert! this is just gorgeous!

    April 5, 2012 at 5:17 am

  2. Your composition is fantastic. I like being able to see a hint of the mountains in the background!

    April 5, 2012 at 6:58 am

    • Thanks for your kind words 🙂

      April 6, 2012 at 7:58 pm

  3. Love the variety of colours and textures. 🙂

    April 5, 2012 at 7:43 am

  4. As much as I love the ocean, I find the desert fascinating. Great shot!!
    Thought I would let you know that I’ve included you on my versatile blogger list – http://beingjulz.com/2012/04/05/thank-you-for-the-versatile-blogger-award/
    Have a great day!

    April 5, 2012 at 12:48 pm

    • Thanks so much… I really appreciate it 🙂

      April 6, 2012 at 7:57 pm

  5. I love it!

    April 5, 2012 at 5:02 pm

  6. Nandini

    As if these plants are dying to walk in the desert. Hehe. Nice photo.

    April 5, 2012 at 8:22 pm

  7. Beautiful!! Makes me wanna go back to last summer when I visited Southern California – Palm Springs/Joshua Tree National Park…good memories so thanks for sharing and taking me back to California..even if just for a minute 😀

    April 6, 2012 at 2:37 am

    • Glad I could be of service 🙂

      April 6, 2012 at 7:57 pm

  8. That’s an ocotillo. I’ve been keeping track on the desert because I usually go out for the wildflowers but this season is not getting off to a good start. I’ve usually been out there by spring break but not this year.

    April 6, 2012 at 3:52 pm

  9. By the way, the little cactus in the front is a cholla. They are mean plants!

    April 6, 2012 at 3:53 pm