Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

Muscle beach


The world infamous Muscle Beach gym in Venice Beach California, getting up close to it for the first time I was really excited to see what it looks like. Its exactly how the movies depict it, open and full of juice heads flexing their muscles 🙂 I probably shouldn’t jump to conclusions because I really don’t know what diet they are following but one would just assume there are some form of steroids involved because they are unnaturally large, every single one of them!
I love working out and I’m big advocate of going to the gym regularly, just do it naturally; it will take time to see results but they will be sustainable. One day, I will share my story here, one day…. 🙂

16 responses

  1. So, we won’t see you on Muscle Beach? 🙂

    May 2, 2012 at 2:03 am

    • No… no chance in hell 🙂 I would consider myself fit but when compared to these guys, I’m just a toothpick!! lol

      May 2, 2012 at 7:44 am

  2. I have always wanted to visit Muscle Beach one day. I run into Kevin Levrone every day because his son goes to my children’s school. He was the runner up to the Mr Olympia contest for about 3 years back in the late 90’s. My Grandfather Dorrel Dixon also used to wrestle in the WWWF & NWA in the 50’s thru the 60’s and went to the Olympics in 58 and 62. Back in those days steroid use was not as common as it was in the 70’s. I use to want to be one of those guys you ran across at Muscle Beach but sadly the genetics that I was blessed with would only take me so far without the use of chemicals. I still train but I am happy with just eating well and only going as far as I can naturally. For the most part the look that you are talking about cannot be achieved naturally…..

    May 2, 2012 at 3:08 am

    • Thanks for sharing this… always interesting to learn those little facts about others 🙂 I’m very much like you, I’m happy with whatever my body can do naturally on its own. I was fortunate enough when I first started in the gym that a body builder sat me down and said NEVER ever do steroids, then he went on to tell me about all the side effects. A great guy, I forgot his name but I’m always grateful for the lesson 🙂

      May 2, 2012 at 7:47 am

  3. How about muscle pond?

    May 2, 2012 at 3:28 am

    • That is not in LA… its in San Diego 🙂 hahaha

      May 2, 2012 at 7:47 am

  4. Terrific shot. I love Venice beach. It’s a great place to people watch and photograph.

    May 2, 2012 at 4:36 am

    • I need to go back there just to hang out… such a lively place 🙂

      May 2, 2012 at 7:48 am

  5. What a strange building 😉

    May 2, 2012 at 5:26 am

  6. siddharthajoshi

    I like the image. A lot. Doesn’t look like US at all…I thought it was some Soviet era building in East Europe…

    May 2, 2012 at 7:21 am

    • Too funny, those were my exact thoughts… very communist era looking type of building! 🙂

      May 2, 2012 at 7:49 am

  7. Yeah. Soviet era except for the palm trees and fat butts. 😉

    May 2, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    • hahahaha… actually there were a lot fit ones, it was distracting 🙂 lol

      May 2, 2012 at 12:50 pm

  8. So glad you didn’t post a picture of the muscle men. Find them…let’s just say – not in the least attractive… Can see the bench press, but also reminds me of a war time bunker.

    May 3, 2012 at 10:01 am

  9. dianne

    i’ve never heard of it before, very interesting

    May 9, 2012 at 4:03 am