Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

Its all about the light


I really got into photography about three years ago and one of the first things I said: “I want a DSLR that takes really nice pictures, with amazing saturated colors but I don’t need a professional camera!”. My friend told me at the time, buy a cheap camera, a good lens and learn how to capture light and thats how you will learn photography. I rolled my eyes and I stuck to my guns, light? I don’t want to be a pro, I just want to take nice pictures! Ironically, the roles are reversed now; when I get asked I preach the importance of light yet no one takes me seriously πŸ™‚

After a year of shooting I started to notice the importance of light and after two I was convinced that its very important, now I believe its the MOST IMPORTANT aspect of the picture; its what will make me keep my camera in the bag or bring it out! The picture above is nothing spectacular when it comes to composition but it really demonstrates the importance of light; I think its an interesting photo because of the directional light. The viewer’s eyes are almost always drawn instantly to the bright & saturated areas and then they tend to explore all the other areas. I think its a lot more interesting had the whole picture been in bright sunlight!

20 responses

  1. Absolutely agree! Light is everything in photos. Great shot and example of that point!

    May 23, 2012 at 3:08 am

  2. You are absolutely correct on that. Photoshop can help, but without good light you will never have a really great image.

    May 23, 2012 at 3:23 am

  3. Light changes everything! It creates mood, focus and turns a shot into a photograph! Nice photograph – love the use of light!

    May 23, 2012 at 4:50 am

  4. Yes! Yes! Yes! It is ALL about the light!!!! Great photo, by the way!

    May 23, 2012 at 5:40 am

  5. I fully agree(It’s all about the light) there’s no fixing bad light in Photoshop…

    May 23, 2012 at 7:50 am

  6. Nice lesson…. passing on the wisdom! πŸ˜‰

    May 23, 2012 at 11:44 am

  7. Excellent lesson! And my eyes did follow the path you suggested it would.. πŸ™‚

    May 23, 2012 at 11:51 am

    • I actually read that somewhere and I’ve been trying to use that concept a lot when creating my images… I think its working πŸ™‚

      May 23, 2012 at 12:12 pm

  8. I still ” want a DSLR that takes really nice pictures”.
    πŸ˜€
    And yes, youΕ£re right, LIGHT is the “most important”.

    Nice photo.

    πŸ™‚

    May 23, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    • hahaha… you really made me laugh, love your humor πŸ™‚

      May 23, 2012 at 12:48 pm

  9. You are right, of course. Light is SO important, and the light in this one is just perfect. πŸ™‚

    May 23, 2012 at 1:17 pm

  10. I love that you can see the ripples in the water and the reflection of the bird’s legs! The lighting is really amazing, great shot.

    May 23, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    • Thank you for noticing the minor details, I chose this one over a sister image because the ripples looked better πŸ™‚

      May 23, 2012 at 8:50 pm

  11. This newbie agrees and is taking your advice when it comes to light! πŸ™‚

    May 25, 2012 at 12:15 am

    • Its the difference between an amateur and a pro… I just wish I believed in it as soon as I started!! πŸ™‚

      May 25, 2012 at 9:39 am

  12. Nandini

    Beautiful photo. The ripples were the first thing I noticed here. Beautiful!!

    May 25, 2012 at 8:06 am

  13. Do you think that’s why it’s a popular practice to use a vignette? Because it creates that focused effect AFTER the fact?

    May 27, 2012 at 8:30 am

    • Exactly but they are appropriate if the subject is in the center of the frame or close to it. Otherwise it looks very unnatural. I think of them as enhancement to this rule πŸ™‚

      May 27, 2012 at 8:37 am

  14. I’ll try and remember your advice – I tend to snap away like crazy when I see something I like! πŸ™‚

    May 30, 2012 at 2:16 am

    • We all do that when we see something we like… Its hard to think rules when you get excited πŸ™‚

      May 30, 2012 at 8:16 am