Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

Crystal Pier Hotel


Pacific Beach in San Diego has a Pier that is also a Private hotel; Crystal Pier hotel is a series of chalets located on the edge of the pier and that area is restricted to tenants of the hotel and staff. The “center” pathway is open to the public from 8am to sunset, if you look closely behind the child’s helmet you’ll see a little open gate to the right.

I had to stand in the middle of the road to take this image, luckily a couple of cars came by which forced me to move; by the time I came back and setup my tripod the sun created this nice glow behind the clouds.

13 responses

  1. beautiful and great perspective πŸ™‚

    May 27, 2012 at 5:09 am

  2. Fantastic Photograph..

    May 27, 2012 at 7:54 am

  3. Aaron the Ogre

    Very nice. I love San Diego. Great capture!

    May 27, 2012 at 9:51 am

  4. Kinda haunted looking. My kind of place! πŸ™‚

    May 28, 2012 at 8:05 am

  5. It’s a great romantic getaway if you ever get a chance to stay there. I stayed way back in 1993 but now they have a minimum number of nights that you have to stay.

    May 30, 2012 at 10:25 pm

  6. It definitely looks like an interesting place to stay.. I really want to see what is behind the gate!

    June 5, 2012 at 7:00 am

    • A bunch of chalets on the pier, they are on the outer edge and the middle is reserved for foot traffic. Its very pretty πŸ™‚

      June 5, 2012 at 12:12 pm

  7. Pingback: PB Pier « 2 Rivers Photos

  8. A great picture but the hotel kind of looks very old & a bit scruffy?

    June 19, 2012 at 4:47 am

    • It does look like that… I think its nice on the inside but don’t quote me on it πŸ™‚

      June 19, 2012 at 6:38 am

  9. I guess it was worth risking your life ;). Just kidding,.. this is an incredible photo. I love how palm trees frame the gate. To tell you the truth I stood in the middle of a road more than once to take a shot that wasn’t nearly as good as this one :D. Well done!

    June 20, 2012 at 7:35 am

  10. Pingback: Stroll on the beach « 2 Rivers Photos