Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

Parked Motorcycle


An image of a parked motorcycle at an intersection in Downtown San Diego, I tend to stare at any motorcycle that goes by as I used to ride myself but I had to quit since I promised my parents I would do so! I rode for 2 summers (2007 & 2008) back when I was living in Toronto and all I can say that its an indescribable feeling, something about the wind blowing in your face and the freedom of nothing around you… its a very unique experience! I was really looking forward to riding all year along when I moved out here but things didn’t pan out as I planned.

13 responses

  1. I feel much the same way. I don’t think I would have gone out with my husband on that very first date if it hadn’t been for his motorcycle 😉 The purple flowers add such a lovely touch.

    June 23, 2012 at 7:39 am

  2. Nice motorcycle, nice perspective, lovely colors, good photo.
    Seems to be a quiet place even if it’s downtown.

    June 23, 2012 at 7:46 am

  3. The HDR effect seems more subtle in this one? I don’t really know anything about HDR or how much you can control the effects of it, but I know what it looks like–it has its own “look” that is very different from other effects, if that makes sense.

    June 23, 2012 at 10:09 am

    • Very hard to answer this one but the answer the way you want to 🙂 I would say this: I was less lazy to make it into an HDR… the ones that people complain about are usually just tone-mapped images which 98% of the time is not the complete product!!! Just like you process an image by adjusting contrast, clarity, saturation, etc… you need to do the same for the tone-mapped image… a lot of people don’t do this step or just keep on boosting the settings which makes it uglier.
      I’m very tempted on doing a post explaining all of this but I would want to avoid coming off as an expert on the subject!!

      June 24, 2012 at 8:00 am

      • I would be interested in your explanation. Compared to me, you are an expert on the subject! I don’t know much about HDR, but I always enjoy reading about others process in creating their images.

        June 24, 2012 at 8:31 am

  4. ohhh, I lived in Toronto for a year… maybe even around the same time as you..? I think i was there for the 2007 year. Where did you live? PS cool pic 🙂

    June 23, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    • I lived in Toronto from 1990-2008 so a looong time… its my hometown. In that period I lived in Yonge & Sheppard… before that I used to live with my parents in Mississauga. Toronto is the New York of Canada 🙂

      June 24, 2012 at 8:01 am

      • Cool! Ahhh Toronto, many memories from there… 🙂

        June 24, 2012 at 10:41 am

  5. A cool pic Bashar. It seems like a nice neighbourhood. I had my share of motorcycle backseat riding 🙂 and I know what you mean, but these things can be so dangerous.

    June 24, 2012 at 2:27 am

  6. Love the purples in the trees. And I absolutely love motorbikes. My SO has a few – some old ones that need a lot of TLC, and 3 that he uses (not nearly often enough to my taste…) – a superbike (Honda Fireblade), a touring bike (BMW GS1150) and a off-road (Yamaha WTF 450). So I understand the fascination with these machines. 🙂

    June 24, 2012 at 6:42 am

  7. Love the sign grape street.. It makes me wonder if the purplish colored trees were planted at the time this street was named.

    June 29, 2012 at 9:00 am

  8. I rode motorcycles from 1973 to 1993, and then again from 1999-2007. All of mine were Yamahas: Special 400, Special 400 II, Virago 700, and two Virago 1100s.

    July 5, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    • Nothing like being on 2 open wheels 🙂

      July 6, 2012 at 7:12 am