Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

A Sea hunter



This is an image of Mike Fletcher, the diver from the Discovery Channel’s show Sea Hunters. I was sitting at the airport bar watching the Olympics until I had to board my first flight to make way back to San Diego; a gentlemen asked me if I didn’t mind him sitting in the chair beside me and I obviously said no so he sat there and we started to chat about the differences between Canadian beer and American beer and why light beer seems to sell the US yet it hardly exists in Canada! While we were chatting I thought he looked familiar but I wasn’t sure and asking him why he looks familiar to me would have been really awkward!
We kept on chatting about what we did for a living and he mentioned that he was a commercial diver and that point I was convinced that he I got him mixed up with someone and nothing more; we chatted more and he mentioned that he was on his way to do some job for a client and right around that point was when the bar tender interrupted us and said: “Hey! Aren’t you the guy from TV? Aren’t you the guy from sea hunters?” and he just quietly acknowledged it. Thats when I told him that the whole time I’ve been talking to him I thought that I recognized him but didn’t want to ask! I asked him if I could take a picture of him and he agreed only under the condition that we take one together. It was really nice meeting him, he was very polite and a great conversation 🙂

25 responses

  1. SmallHouseBigGarden

    How nice!! You Got a GREAT pic with him too!!

    August 3, 2012 at 3:08 am

  2. That’s cool! It would be neat to have a series of “at the airport.” I’m too afraid of flying, but it would be interesting, I think. 🙂

    August 3, 2012 at 3:47 am

  3. Great photos! So cool that you chatted with a tv celebrity pretty much.

    August 3, 2012 at 6:19 am

  4. Great story and picture of you two. I’m sure he probably really enjoyed having a normal conversation with you without feeling he had to put his celebrity face on.

    August 3, 2012 at 7:37 am

  5. elle

    haha wow that’s so neat!! …and that you were talking to him the whole time XD pretty cool

    August 3, 2012 at 8:09 am

  6. How thrilling is that?

    August 3, 2012 at 10:07 am

  7. That is so awesome! Very humbling of him. And you did a great job making him “be” like a “regular” person.

    August 3, 2012 at 12:26 pm

  8. Very cool! Great photos.

    August 3, 2012 at 9:27 pm

  9. Great!

    August 3, 2012 at 10:30 pm

  10. That’s a cool experience 🙂 meeting inspiring people…

    August 4, 2012 at 4:15 am

  11. brujjilla

    It’s good to know that famous people still friendly

    August 4, 2012 at 8:07 am

  12. What an experience. Sea diving can be very dangerous so not only did you meet a Man who risks his life in the waters, he’s also on television, cool! Photos turned out great. 🙂

    August 4, 2012 at 11:20 pm

  13. How nice! Lovely pic of the 2 of you as well! 🙂

    August 6, 2012 at 3:13 am

  14. Such a very nice portrait, and such a very handsome man. And men in the last one.. 😉

    August 6, 2012 at 1:40 pm

    • Thanks for your kind words 🙂 He was a great person to talk to, very down to earth and friendly 🙂

      August 6, 2012 at 1:47 pm

  15. Very cool. Nice that you guys got to have a bit of a chat too!

    August 7, 2012 at 4:38 am

    • Yeah he was super cool 🙂

      August 7, 2012 at 9:55 am

      • Trish

        that’s my brother in-law Mike from Port Dover Ontario he is a great guy loves to chat LOL

        September 25, 2012 at 10:41 am

        • Trish

          he is just a regular guy !!!

          September 25, 2012 at 10:49 am

          • He was great to talk to… please say hello to him and thank him for being kind enough to take a picture 🙂

            What a small world 🙂

            September 25, 2012 at 2:06 pm

            • Trish

              I actually forwarded this photo and write up to him so he will be happy to see it. I know they are working on a new show but I don’t have the details as to when it will be on. you will have to check it out when they have it up and running. Have you watched his shows?

              September 26, 2012 at 6:13 am

              • We talked about some of the things he’s working on but he asked me to publish them and I gladly obliged 🙂 Yes I’ve seen a couple of his shows but not in a while!!

                September 26, 2012 at 8:52 am

  16. 2 great shots & how cool for you! 😉

    August 7, 2012 at 1:31 pm

  17. What an great story lol… Is this your first photograph with a celebrity?

    August 15, 2012 at 7:35 am

    • With, yes… first time meeting one? no I’ve met quite a few… I’m not star struck at all, I find them normal people and I just talk to them. Now that I love photography I just wanted a portrait, he insisted we take one together 🙂 The biggest celebrity I met was Sean Penn… and believe it or not he came up to me because I wasn’t going to bother him… he introduced himself and I said I know who you are, I just didn’t want to bother you… we talked for about 10-15 minutes, super nice fellow but a chimney smoker 🙂

      August 15, 2012 at 8:55 am