Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

Balboa Park Activity Center


Arches, Architecture, B&W, Balboa Park, Balboa Park Activity Center, black & white, monochrome, San Diego

I really wanted to do an HDR of this image and I actually started out by doing so but after looking at what was really going on I didn’t think it was fitting or at least I didn’t like it. The place looks deserted and hasn’t been used in quite some time, the sign that says “Balboa Park Activity Center” has gunk on it! I thought the monochrome was more fitting for the scene.

12 responses

  1. Kind of a weird entrance. What were they thinking?

    October 9, 2012 at 4:40 am

    • Maybe thats why its deserted/out of business? And the location was not optimal either, kind of found it by accident.

      October 9, 2012 at 7:37 am

  2. i like it the way it is. Maybe a little bit of grittiness just to give it some extra dimension šŸ˜‰ I still like it though šŸ˜‰

    October 9, 2012 at 5:39 am

    • Great suggestion, didn’t think of it but now that you mention I think it would’ve looked better with your suggestion… Thanks for the feedback šŸ™‚

      October 9, 2012 at 7:38 am

  3. Is it named after Rocky?! šŸ˜€

    October 9, 2012 at 5:40 am

    • hahaha… I saw this first thing in the morning and it took a while to register but once it did I cracked up šŸ™‚

      October 9, 2012 at 7:39 am

  4. I am happy you decided to go monochrome with this one šŸ™‚

    October 9, 2012 at 11:39 am

    • I’m happy to make you happy šŸ™‚

      October 9, 2012 at 12:35 pm

      • Paula

        šŸ˜€ šŸ™‚

        October 9, 2012 at 10:08 pm

  5. This is so cool! I agree about the use of monochrome for this. It works really well.

    October 11, 2012 at 6:09 pm

  6. I think the monochrome adds a flair for the dramatic – nice touch!

    October 18, 2012 at 9:47 am

    • Thanks Anita šŸ™‚

      October 18, 2012 at 12:17 pm