Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

Setting up the shot


HDR, La Jolla, La Jolla Shores, Landscape, San Diego, sunset, Pacific Ocean

I haven’t done a sunset shot in a long time, at least it feels like it to me. This was this past Saturday’s sunset at La Jolla shores, I took a stroll down to the beach just to enjoy the warm days as they haven’t left Southern California yet. I was wrapping up my shots for the day and I saw this photographer working with a couple and trying to setup the shot for them; I decided to take a picture of them πŸ™‚

If you’d like to buy a print of the image above click here or on the image itself

13 responses

  1. It is lovely, I like the colors and the ‘milky’ substance of the beach and water.

    October 17, 2012 at 3:17 am

  2. Intense colours… πŸ™‚

    October 17, 2012 at 5:10 am

  3. Amazing photo, so beautiful πŸ™‚

    October 17, 2012 at 12:40 pm

  4. Did you know that there is a negative low tide this afternoon at 5:25, with sunset at 6:15? I’m heading over to the Cove since the tidepools are pretty awesome during negativie low tides.

    October 17, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    • Thanks for letting me know Russel… I think I will join you… where are you going to be? I’m going to try to head out of work at 4pm, glad I came in early :). Want to meet by the children’s pool? or make a suggestion.

      October 17, 2012 at 1:38 pm

      • Jim and I are leaving SDSU at 4:30. I’m going to have to drive, well, quickly, let’s say, in order to find a parking spot and get there. Of course, the negative low tide doesn’t just magically end at 5:25, but we’re heading straight to the seals. We’ll probably be parked over there near White Sands La Jolla at 7450 Olivetas Ave. We’re going out to eat at SmashBurger afterwards, 1000 Prospect St. if you want to join us.

        October 17, 2012 at 1:49 pm

  5. Love the colors in this one!!!
    Not fair…. our negative tide is at 20:24 — well past sunset. Flashlight for the tidal pools? I don’t think so….. πŸ˜‰

    October 17, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    • But that explains the guy standing out there in last night’s sunset shot…..

      October 17, 2012 at 1:58 pm

  6. Melise

    One day when I get serious I will have to get a new camera. Beautiful photo! πŸ™‚

    October 17, 2012 at 2:17 pm

  7. I’m glad you stopped for this last one :D. No sunset of such luxury can be omitted! I’ve noticed you taking pics of people taking pics before…. it gives an interesting perspective to classical sunset shots… Cool!

    October 17, 2012 at 10:45 pm

  8. lovely photo. love the colors..

    October 18, 2012 at 12:08 am

  9. Beautiful capture, such lovely colors!!

    October 18, 2012 at 5:12 am

  10. Beautiful colors!

    October 18, 2012 at 6:01 am