Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette


Big Rock, La Jolla Cove, La Jollla, San Diego, silhouette, sunset, Weekly Photo Challenge, Negative Tide Pools

Here is a silhouette from the negative tide pools at La Jolla Cove from last Wednesday. Little did we know we had a spectacular sunset in store for us that day, I could’ve sworn I overheard someone mention that you always get amazing sunsets when you have negative tides! Can anyone confirm if this is a fact or myth?

12 responses

  1. I miss La Jolla! Thanks for the trip down memory lane…

    October 22, 2012 at 3:57 am

  2. A very wonderful photo end blog. Orofiorentino from Italy

    October 22, 2012 at 4:22 am

  3. I’ve gotten some spectacular sunsets with negative tides. Then again there have been times when the fog bank came rolling in and totally blotted out the sunset. I can’t imagine how the two would be related, but I can’t say for sure.

    October 22, 2012 at 10:57 am

  4. WOW!

    October 22, 2012 at 12:02 pm

  5. Very cool image. I love that big void. It’s interesting and creative.

    October 22, 2012 at 1:34 pm

  6. Beautiful! I just love La Jolla and all it has to offer. I’ve never heard that one about sunsets and negative tides. I’ll be looking forward to some answers!

    October 22, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    • So far most people think there is no relationship and I agree with that 🙂

      October 22, 2012 at 7:55 pm

  7. This is stunning!! & I don’t believe that… 😉 **

    October 22, 2012 at 10:17 pm

  8. Truly lovely!!

    October 23, 2012 at 3:46 am

  9. petit4chocolatier

    Stunning picture; as always!

    October 23, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  10. I don’t know if negative tides and beautiful sunsets are related, but they seem to be here in San Diego. Here’s how it works:

    Usually the marine layer comes in and obscures any sunset we might have. However, offshore winds, which are winds blowing in the wrong direction, i.e., instead of blowing west to east, they blow from east to west, coming out of the high deserts of Nevada, Arizona, and southern Utah, have an effect. They are partially responsible for negative tides, as well as many of the wildfires we have in September and October, and they keep the marine layer off shore. Thus the clouds stay out at sea and provide us with beautiful sunsets instead of clouding over the coast.

    I’m not a meteorologist. I just know what I’ve seen during 19 years here in San Diego.

    By the way, if you need a break, the Amateur Pianists are performing at the Carlsbad Dove Library at 2:00 this coming Saturday. Jim will be playing, one of eight pianists on the program, and I’m his official page turner. Come see us! It’s free!

    October 23, 2012 at 11:05 pm

  11. I emailed a friend in College Station, Texas, who is a meteorologist with Texas A&M University. He said it’s probably a regional coincidence that the prevaling winds, the negative tides, and the beautiful sunsets occur simultaneously. Not unknown for meteorological and oceanographical events to coincide, though. He was impressed by your and my sunset photographs.

    October 24, 2012 at 12:19 am