Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

Silky waters


La Jolla Cove, La Jollla, Neutral Density Filter, San Diego, Silky Water

A picture of La Jolla cove from children’s pool beach. Since the sun was still out and it was bright no matter how low I bumped my ISO and how small I set my aperture I couldn’t get the shutter slow enough to smooth out the water. I had to use my variable neutral density filter (which acts like a pair of sunglasses) to get the silky waters effect. In essence, the filter blocks the amount of light the sensor sees and the the shutter will remain open for a longer period to allow for a correct exposure; and this will get you the silky water effect ๐Ÿ™‚

If youโ€™d like to buy a print of the image above click here or on the image itself

9 responses

  1. Fantastic! ๐Ÿ™‚

    October 26, 2012 at 2:54 am

  2. Fabulous shot!! The water is amazing!

    October 26, 2012 at 3:07 am

  3. Haha… and as usual, we have opposite takes. I’ve never been wild about the ‘silky’ water effect. I tend to go for the au naturel. Why try to improve on nature… but then there’s lots of folks out there who like the gimmicks, I know. Still, it’s a nice setting and composition.

    October 26, 2012 at 8:34 am

  4. Wonderful photo and “silky waters,” what a lovely name (had to see your post after reading that haha).

    October 26, 2012 at 11:13 am

  5. petit4chocolatier

    Beautiful waters!

    October 26, 2012 at 1:09 pm

  6. ๐Ÿ™‚ I used ND filter once on a small waterfall for the same reason ๐Ÿ™‚ Loving this pic and not only for the creamy water…..

    October 26, 2012 at 2:12 pm

  7. Ooooeeeee – I like this a lot!! Have always wondered how that effect is achieved!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ **

    October 27, 2012 at 10:46 am

  8. Amazing.. Broke out into a wide grin looking at this photo.. The composition, the water, the shore line.. Beautiful!

    November 7, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    • Thanks your kind words

      November 7, 2012 at 10:49 pm