Photoblog by a proud citizen of planet earth

Mama Jamaica


Kearny Mesa, Mama Jamaica, Portrait,

Last Friday myself and my colleagues decided to give Mama Jamaica a try during our lunch break, it had some decent reviews on yelp and we wanted to try something new. Having moved from Toronto, which has a huge Caribbean community, I really missed having some good old jerk chicken 🙂 When I was placing my order I mentioned to the lady how much I missed Jamaican food and she asked me where I was from and it turns out that she had moved to San Diego from Toronto over 20 years ago. And if that wasn’t enough of a coincidence she lived across the street from where I worked for the last 10 years there. Anyway in case you haven’t guessed it, the lady behind the counter was Mama Jamaica herself, while waiting for our order to come up I took a couple of pictures of the store as its funky decoration. She asked me if I was going to take all these pictures without taking a picture of Mama Jamaica and with that toxic smile and vibrant personality how could I say no to such an opportunity 🙂

I really enjoyed my meal and I would definitely go back to try other dishes if not have some more jerk chicken 🙂 If you’d like to give it a try then its located at:
Mama Jamaica
5447 Kearny Villa Road
San Diego, CA 92123
(858) 279-5375

Mama Jamaica, Kearny Mesa, Restaurant

Mama Jamaica, Kearny Mesa, Restaurant

Mama Jamaica, Kearny Mesa, Restuarant

Mama Jamaica, Kearny Mesa, Restaurant

Mama Jamaica, Kearny Mesa, Restaurant, Jerk Chicken, Jerk Pork, Jerk Brisket

25 responses

  1. Good story with some lovely vibrant shots, Bashar. I think the portrait of Mama Jamaica wins!

    November 3, 2012 at 2:11 am

  2. A lovely post & what a lovely looking lady! 🙂 The dishes look so appetizing too! a cool interior as well!

    November 3, 2012 at 3:19 am

  3. Great photos! The food looks divine!! And what a fun place. 🙂

    November 3, 2012 at 5:02 am

  4. Great review, Bashar…the motto behind the counter says it all “Out of many One people!” It really is a small world and you capture it so eloquently in your photos.

    November 3, 2012 at 5:03 am

  5. This food looks so delicious and fattening … Mama Jamaica is beautiful!!!!

    November 3, 2012 at 6:57 am

  6. So colorful, Bashar! I adore the photo on the outside, with the blue colors. The food looks delicious. Say hi to Mama Jamaica next time you visit? 🙂

    November 3, 2012 at 8:29 am

  7. Ahhh… good ole comfort food… the stuff you grew up with. It means so much to those of us who have moved around or away from home.

    November 3, 2012 at 9:33 am

  8. Love the photo of Mama Jamaica!

    November 3, 2012 at 7:08 pm

  9. petit4chocolatier

    Great story, what a coincidence! Beautiful photos; especially Mama Jamaica!

    November 4, 2012 at 8:48 am

    • It really makes one realize what a small world it is… and she was such a lovely lady, her beautiful personality just pops in the picture… at least I think so 🙂

      November 4, 2012 at 9:03 am

  10. That food looks great, and the colourful restaurant shots are so vibrant!

    November 4, 2012 at 9:22 am

  11. Wonderful lady, wonderful place, and I certainly would like to taste the food. I am sorry it is so far away…

    November 4, 2012 at 5:17 pm

  12. Funky! Would have loved to try it out. 🙂

    November 5, 2012 at 4:24 am

  13. Love the shots, especially the one of Mama Jamaica herself, and love the story. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    November 7, 2012 at 11:22 am

  14. This is so unfair.. Plantain? Jerk chicken? Beans and Rice? Red Stripe? Salivating here.. Makes me wish I did not live in the suburbs because for me to get good Jamaican food it means a minimum of a 15 mile drive which equates to 1 hour in my car due to D.C area traffic.. Great story 🙂

    November 7, 2012 at 1:23 pm

  15. funny report!

    November 9, 2012 at 9:43 am

  16. I know you’re not an American so I’ll just gently correct you and say that “myself and my colleagues” should be “my colleagues and I.” Now I’ll go back to watching “Aliens and Predators”……………lol

    November 9, 2012 at 9:50 am

    • I can always improve my “language skills” so thank you and I really do appreciate it 🙂

      November 9, 2012 at 1:04 pm

      • I generally don’t correct people’s English, especially on the Internet, but since I have met you in person and discovered that I like you online AND in real life, I thought I would go ahead.

        By the way, I was watching a SciFy movie while I was camping at your place so I wasn’t dictating too many comments this morning, but I really liked that one photo with the silky water. That was awesome!

        November 9, 2012 at 1:58 pm

        • Thanks dude and I appreciate your kind words. One more month of school and hopefully we can go out and shoot… realistically probably in 2013 since family stuff starts to take over soon 🙂

          November 9, 2012 at 2:13 pm

  17. your friend in education

    That woman is awesome! I ordered a drink, “Jamaican Irish Moss,” and though the drink was so-so, the real value came in Mama Jamaica’s incessant jokes as I stood there with my girlfriend.

    I’ll leave the details to Mama Jamaica =)

    November 9, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    • That’s awesome, Mama Jamaica definitely rocks 🙂

      November 9, 2012 at 6:27 pm

  18. As much as I love black and whites.. i love even more colorful people and tasty food.. great one here..

    November 18, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    • She’s the type of person you could just talk to for hours 🙂

      November 18, 2012 at 5:10 pm

      • She looked like she would be.. good capture..

        November 18, 2012 at 6:11 pm